EFMA

European Financial Management Symposium 2008
Initial Public Offerings
April 10-12, 2008
Said Business School, Oxford University, UK


Accepted Papers & Participants List

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Participants

Paper


B


Barbanov S Sergey, Ozocak Oren Walker Thomas
Email:
Do Underwriters Have an Information Advantage? Evidence from Institutional Investor Holdings around IPO-Related Securities Class Action Announcements


Bubna Amit , N. R. Prabhala
Email: anders.anderson@sifr.org
Is Online Trading Gambling with Peanuts?


Bancel Franck , Mittoo R. Usha
Email: bancel@escp-eap.net
Why European firms go public?


Bessler Wolfgang and Stanzel Matthias
Email: wolfgang.bessler@wirtschaft.uni-giessen.de
Conflicts of Interest and Research Quality of Affiliated Analysts: Evidence from IPO Underwriting


Bustamante Cecilia Maria
Email: bustamante@haas.berkeley.edu
The Dynamics of Going Public


C


Carpentier Cécile , Suret Jean-Marc
Email: cecile.carpentier@fsa.ulaval.ca
The Survival and Success of Penny Stock IPOs: Canadian Evidence


Chambers David ,Dimson Elroy
Email: david.chambers@economics.ox.ac.uk
IPO UNDERPRICING OVER THE VERY LONG RUN


Cao X Jerry
Email: caoxi@bc.edu
Private Equity Firm’s Role When Leveraged Buyouts Go Public, Conflict in Interests and Certification


D


Derrien François ,Kecskés Ambrus
Email: derrien@hec.fr
How much does investor sentiment really matter for equity issuance activity?


Dereeper Sébastien, Bernoussi Achraf
Email: sebastien.dereeper@univ-lille2.fr
Underwriting Syndicate, IPO Placement Risk and Lead manager Reputation : An Empirical Study on European Stock Markets


E


Espenlaub Susanne ,Khurshed Arif ,Mohamed Abdul
Email: susanne.espenlaub@mbs.ac.uk
Is AIM A Casino? A study of the survival of new listings on the UK Alternative Investment Market (AIM)


Edwards K. Amy , Hanley Kathleen
Email: hanleyk@sec.gov
Short Selling in Initial Public Offerings


F


G


Giudici Giancarlo ,Vedove Dalle Francesco
Email: giancarlo.giudici@polimi.it
The Discrimination between Professional and Retail Investors in Italian IPOs


H


Hao Qing
Email: haoq@missouri.edu
Litigation Risk and IPO Underpricing Revisited


Hanley Weiss Kathleen, Gerard Hoberg
Email: ghoberg@rhsmith.umd.edu
Strategic Disclosure and the Pricing of Initial Public Offerings


I


J


Johnson William, Jun-Koo Kang and Sangho Yi
Email: william.johnson@unh.edu
Valuation effects of product market customers in Initial Public Offerings


Jelic Ranko
Email: R.Jelic@bham.ac.uk
Management Forecasts and IPO Performance


K


Kecskes Ambrus
Email: ambrus.kecskes03@trotman.utoronto.ca
Why are firms that raise more financing worth more?


L


Lee Gemma ,Masulis W. Ronald
Email: glee@cba.ua.edu
Seasoned Equity Offerings: Quality of Accounting Information and Expected Flotation Costs


M


Masulis W. Ronald , C.N.V. Krishnan,Singh K. Ajai
Email: ronald.masulis@owen.vanderbilt.edu
Does Venture Capital Reputation Matter? Evidence from Subsequent IPOs


Masulis W. Ronald ,Li Xi
Email:ronald.masulis@owen.vanderbilt.edu
How do venture investments by different classes of financial institutions affect the equity underwriting process?


N


O


Olsen C. Brett ,Howe S. John
Email: bretto@uidaho.edu
Security Choice and Corporate Governance


P


Q


R


Ray Rina
Email: rina.ray@nhh.no
Directed Share Programs in IPO Underwriting - Agency Problem or Supply Assurance?


S


Schmid Markus, Hoechle Daniel
Email: marcus.schmid@unisg.ch
Which, why, and for how long do IPOs underperform?


Smith L. Richard, Smith Kiholm Janet, Kutsuna Kenji
Email: richard.smith@cgu.edu
Public Information, IPO Price Formation, and Long-run Returns: Japanese Evidence


Sherman Ann, Liu Laura, Zhang Yong
Email: ann.sherman@depaul.edu
The Role of the Media in Initial Public Offerings


T


Trauten Andreas,Langer Thomas
Email: andreas.trauten@wiwi.uni-muenster.de
Why the Google IPO might stay exotic – An experimental analysis of offering mechanisms


U


V


Vismara Silvio ,Paleari Stefano and Cogliati Giordano
Email: silvio.vismara@unibg.it
IPO pricing: growth rates implied in offer prices


W


Westberg Marietta- Jennifer,Johnson C. William
Email: westbergj@sec.gov
Universal Banking, Asset Management, and Stock Underwriting


X


Xi Li, Ronald Masulis
Email:
Equity ownership in IPO issuers by brokerage firms and affiliated research coverage


Y


Yung Chris, Wang Wei
Email:chris.yung@colorado.edu
IPO Information Aggregation and Underwriter Quality


Z


Zhang Feng
Email: feng.zhang@sauder.ubc.ca
Determinants of IPO Gross Spreads: Theory and Evidence