EFMA

European Financial Management Symposium 2011
Alternative Investments
April 7-9, 2011
York University, Toronto, Canada


Accepted Papers & Participants List

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Participants

Paper


B


Ballesteros Troy
Email: troyballesteros@gmail.com
Efficiency Tests in the Art Market Using Cointegration and the Error Correction Model


Bereskin Frederick and Hsu Po-Hsuan
Email: bereskin@udel.edu
New Dogs New Tricks: CEO Turnover, CEO-Related Factors, and Innovation Performance


Borell Mariela and Tykvova Tezera
Email: borell@zew.de
Do private equity investors help distressed companies to become healthy or do they trigger ¯nancial distress?


Bitsch Florian, Buchner Axel and Kaserer Christoph
Email: florian.bitsch@cefs.de
Risk, Return and Cash Flow Characteristics of Infrastructure Fund Investments


C


Chung Ji-Woong
Email: jwchung@baf.cuhk.edu.hk
Performance Persistence in Private Equity Funds


D


DeGennaro Ramon and McDonald Michael
Email: rdegenna@utk.edu
Returns on Angel Investments: A Synthesis of Returns and Rational in Early Stage Equity Investment


Derrien Francois, Kecske Ambrus and Thesmar David
Email: derrien@hec.fr
Investor Horizons and Corporate Policies


Dong Ming and Jean-Sébastien Michel
Email: dming@schulich.yorku.ca
Do Industry Growth Prospects Drive IPO Stock Performance?


F


Francois Pascal and Hubner Georges
Email: pascal.francois@hec.ca
A portfolio approach to venture capital financing


G


Gerakos Joseph and Cassar Gavin
Email: jgerakos@chicagobooth.edu
How do hedge funds manage portfolio risk?


H


Hass Lars Helge, Koziol Christian and Schweizer Denis
Email: lars.hass@whu.edu
What drives Contagion in Financial Markets? Liquidity Effects versus Information Spillover


Herzel Stefano, Nicolosi Marco and Starica Catalin
Email: stefano.herzel@uniroma2.it
The cost of sustainability on optimal portfolio choices


Hou Wenxuan
Email: wenxuan.hou@durham.ac.uk
The Valuation of Considerations by Conflicting Shareholders in the Split Share Structure Reform


Hsu Po-Hsuan, Tian Xuan and Xu Yan
Email: paul.hsu@business.uconn.edu
Financial Development and Innovation: Cross Country Evidence


Hsu Po-Hsuan and Cao Jerry
Email: paul.hsu@business.uconn.edu
Patent Signaling, Entrepreneurial Performance, and Venture Capital Financing


J


Jelic Ranko, Drenovak Mikica and Uroševic Branko
Email: r.jelic@bham.ac.uk
European Bond ETFs-Tracking Errors and Sovereign Debt Crisis


Johan Sofia, Knill April and Mauck Nathun
Email: sjohan@schulich.yorku.ca
Determinants of Soveriegn Wealth Fund Investment in Private Equity


Jylha Petri
Email: jylha@hse.fi
When Do Hedge Fund Managers Misreport Returns?


K


Kraeussl Roman, Lee Jonathan and Maula Markku
Email: rkraeussl@feweb.vu.nl
Art as an Investment: The Top 500 Artists


L


Lambert Marie, Hubner Georges and Papageorgiu Nicolas
Email: marie_lambert82@hotmail.com
Directional and Non-Directional Risk Exposures in Hedge Fund Returns


Leisen Dietmar
Email: leisen@uni-mainz.de
Staged Venture Capital Contracting with Ratchets and Liquidation Rights: An Analysis of Financing Constraints


Li Dan and Cumming Douglas
Email: dli06@schulich.yorku.ca
Public Policy and Business Creation in The United States Corresponding Author Drtails


Li Ying, Holland Steven and Kazemi Hossein
Email: YLi@uwb.edu
Compensation Options, Managerial Incentives, and Risk Taking in Hedge Funds


Li Si, Phelim Boyle and Zhu Xyunhua
Email: sli@wlu.ca
Hedge Fund Redemption Restrictions, Financial Crisis, and Fund Performance


Lieser Karsten and Groh Alexander
Email: klieser@iese.edu
The Attractiveness of 66 Countries for Institutional Real Estate Investments: A Composite Index Approach


M


Manninen Otso, Jaaskelainen Mikko and Maula Markku
Email: omannine@cc.hut.fi
Access versus Selection: What Drives Limited Partners' Private Equity Returns?


Morkeotter Stefan and Oesch David
Email: stefan.morkoetter@unisg.ch
Asset Sales to Private Equity Funds - Shareholder Value Maximization on the Sell-Side?


N


Nocera Giacomo and Bruno Brunella
Email: giacomo.nocera@unibocconi.it
Investing in Art: the Informational Content of Italian Painting Pre-Sale Estimates?


O


Ogden Joseph P., Cao Yang and Ti Cristian I. u
Email: joeogden@buffalo.edu
Who benefits from funds of hedge funds? A critique of alternative operational structures in the hedge fund industry


P


Pandes Ari, Cumming Douglas and Robinson Michael
Email: j.ari.pandes@haskayne.ucalgary.ca
The Role of Agents in Private Finance


Pinheiro Roberto
Email: roberto.pinheiro@colorado.edu
Venture Capital and Underpricing: Capacity Constraints and Early Sales


Pomorski Lukasz and Dyck Alexander
Email: lpomorski@rotman.utoronto.ca
Is Bigger Better? Size and Performance in Pension Plan Management


R


Rauch Christian, Litty Timo, Wahrenburg Mark and Hackethal Andreas
Email: christian.h.rauch@googlemail.com
Private Equity - Blessing or Curse? The Case of IPOs


Rinne Kalle, Jylha Petri and Suominen Matti
Email: kalle.rinne@aalto.fi
Do Hedge Funds Supply or Demand Liquidity?


Robe Michel A., Brunetti Celso and Büyüksahin Bahattin
Email: mrobe@american.edu
Do OPEC Members Know Something the Market Doesn’t? “Fair Price” Pronouncements and the Market Price of Crude Oil


Rosenthal Dale
Email: daler@uic.edu
The Effect of Market Structure on Counterparty Risk


S


Savona Roberto
Email: savona@eco.unibs.it
Hedge Fund Systemic Risk Signals


Schweizer Denis, Cumming Douglas and Hass Lars Helge
Email: denis.schweizer@whu.edu
Strategic Asset Allocation and the Role of Alternative Investments


Shum Pauline
Email:pshum@yorku.ca
The Long and Short of Leveraged ETFs: the Financial Crisis and Performance Attribution


Steffen Marc, Kroker Matthias and Wolff Michael
Email:msr@m-s-rapp.de
Are Private Equity Investors Governance Champions or Simply Stock Picking Specialists?


T


Taussig Markus
Email:mtaussig@hbs.edu
Why do family firms congregate in certain industries?


W


Wallerstein Erik, Tuchschmid Nils and Zanolin Louis
Email: erik.wallerstein@hesge.ch
Will Alternative Ucits Ever be Loved Enough to Replace Hedge Funds?


Wang Hefei and Lee Bernard
Email: hfwang@uic.edu
Reevaluating the roles of large public surpluses and sovereign wealth funds in Asia


Weisskopf Jean-Philippe and Masset Philippe
Email: jean-philippe.weisskopf@unifr.ch
Raise your Glass: Wine Investment and the Financial Crisis


Wu Zhenyu, Wenlong Yuan and Wei Xueqi
Email: wu@edwards.usask.ca
Resource Strategies on Angels' Investing Outcomes: Big Gains and Big Losses in Angel Investments


Y


Yang Tianna
Email:tianna.yang@postgrad.mbs.ac.uk
Why closed-end funds make open market repurchases?